Start a new topic
Answered

Saving Maps

I was working on a map, but after I saved it and opened it again, I couldn't get back to the map I was working on. It just shows the default world map.


How do I get back to the map I was working on?


Best Answer

Hi Lisa, 


Saving the map doesn't automatically save the default starting extents. 

To do that, you'll need to create a default bookmark by:

  1. Clicking on the bottom right "Bookmarks" tab
  2. Click the '+' icon to add a new bookmark
  3. Check the box to specify it as the default view
  4. Click "Create"
  5. Save the map
The next time you load the map, it should start at that view. 


If you want to update the default view click on the bookmark again, edit it, and check the "Update bookmark extents using current map extents"



Please let us know if this doesn't feel very intuitive and we can forward that info to our development team. 




Answer

Hi Lisa, 


Saving the map doesn't automatically save the default starting extents. 

To do that, you'll need to create a default bookmark by:

  1. Clicking on the bottom right "Bookmarks" tab
  2. Click the '+' icon to add a new bookmark
  3. Check the box to specify it as the default view
  4. Click "Create"
  5. Save the map
The next time you load the map, it should start at that view. 


If you want to update the default view click on the bookmark again, edit it, and check the "Update bookmark extents using current map extents"



Please let us know if this doesn't feel very intuitive and we can forward that info to our development team. 




1 person likes this

You need to make sure you give it time to save. It should give you a message if you try to exit a map before the save is completed. If you ignore that you will be able to exit without saving and you will lose your changes.

The difference between saving and bookmarking is confusing - not intuitive to me at all. 


It would make sense that you would be able to return to the same view of the section of the map you were last working on when you click on "Save". The bookmark function seems to be a little superfluous...? 

You may have many bookmarks but you can choose the one you would like as your default and thumbnail view
Login or Signup to post a comment